IKEA meets Chalk Paint!

I have refreshed and given new life to all sorts of furniture.  Basically, if it is made of wood I will bring it home to work on.  This shows in the garage, I could never even think of parking my car in there or getting to any of my pieces.  I will have to do some major work in there this Spring.

This is the first time I refreshed an IKEA piece.  It was one of their wood pieces with no veneer.

IMG_6136

I had a perfect spot for it in the upstairs hallway.  It is not a very big piece and was not deep so it wouldn’t be in the way.

IMG_6138 IMG_6137

First I stained the top with a Gel Stain.  I loved the ease of applying this stain.

IMG_6139

The rest of the dresser was paint with Annie Sloan Chalk Paint Napoleonic Blue.  The knobs were wood so I stained them to match the top.  I love the way this turned out.

Ikea dresser

Here’s hoping that in the Spring I will finally be able to get to the pieces that are stored in the garage.  The last time I cleaned the garage my neighbours came over to see if I was moving…

 

Gallery | This entry was posted in Dressers, Painted Furniture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

