Vanity/Desk Before and After

I found this discarded piece that could have once been a vanity or desk or even a front hall table.

One man’s trash is another man’s treasure or in this case another woman’s treasure

I loved how it was open on the sides and had one drawer in the centre.  The way the finish was crackly I figured it was 50-60 years old.

The original plan was to sand and stain the top and chalk paint the rest. Once I started I quickly realized the wood veneer was in need of more work than the sanding would do.

robs desk before

I decided then to use ASCP Graphite on the top and around a few of the edges and the rest was done in Aubusson Blue. I still wanted it to have and aged look to it so I distressed a little around the edges for some definition and then out came the dark wax.

Robs desk

It has since become a welcome piece in someone’s bedroom.

A perfect place for the tv.

This entry was posted in Desks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

